Open Letter to WashU Class of 2019!

As summer of 2015 flies by and freshman year of college looms closer, I can feel my anticipation/stress/nervousness levels rising, but I also feel a closer bond with my future peers at WashU. Here’s to my new classmates and everyone else part of the Class of 2019, because we’re all in this together (as our generation was taught by Troy and Gabriella).

3db813c7214ed6cef86b52931db76f9e

Dear soon-to-be WashU fam,

It’s all very surreal isn’t it? This whole college thing? I mean, it’s always been in the back of my mind, knowing that I was going to have to get up and go sometime, but I’d always been more worried about getting there. Now that I’m here, I’m not entirely sure what to do with myself. I suppose we all feel somewhat like that, as college freshman, but it really hadn’t hit me until now with the room assignments and the class registration (aka the most stressful 10 mins of my life) and the dorm room shopping frenzy in full swing.

Well, as far as I know, everyone seems uber friendly and nice, and that makes me all the more excited to meet y’all. Sure, sure, at some point tthat horribly annoying freshman energy to meet new people and try new things will wear off, but as for now, that’s exactly what I intend to do. I can’t wait to have you all, my brand-new chosen family, at my side doing it with me. I’ve always thought Class of 2015 was the best class – not quite millenials and not quite 90s kid – so I expect I’ll love Class of 2019 just as much. (Although *side note* it does suck that we didn’t get to be Class of 2020. That just sounds so legit. 2020.)

We’re in this adventure together, whether we like it or not, kinda like Hogwarts or Percy Jackson or Game of Thrones. Ok, Game of Thrones is a bad metaphor. But the point is, I am so lucky and thrilled to be going to college, and I’m so ready to be a part of this fam. Once a bear, always a bear. #WUSTL2019

Love, Francie x

page-intro-brookings

2 thoughts on “Open Letter to WashU Class of 2019!

Leave a Reply

